Jennifer Hales Egyptology Page

What's your Fighting name (and real name if you want to include)?
Jenny; my sobriquet is Evy Anna Jones

Where are you from (State or Country)?
Illinois

What is your birthday (optional)?
August 8th

Tell us a little about you, i.e., family, job, friends.
I come from a family of four: mom, dad and a twin sister.
The latter serves as my best friend; we have shared everything together:
a womb, toys, clothes, sheet music, and so on.
That is my immediate family; my extended family is that.
Since I am of Italian origin, “extended” is an understatement.
Therefore, I will just stick with telling you about my immediate family.
My father is a hard-working mail carrier.
He loves to bowl and watch television (who does not?).
My mother is twice as hard working: she is a service clerk at Jewel
and keeps up with almost all of the household duties.
Try to help her and she will refuse your offer :D
She loves to go to the antique store, sing to herself
and watch Joel Osteen (a popular televangelist).
My sister is a fashion major and a lover of music
as well as of movies and television.
She has successfully completed three spectacular university fashion shows;
for the third one, she won “Best up-and-coming designer”.
She is a violinist and amateur pianist. She is also a great artist,
almost as good as I am; although, she feels she is not.
She loves Buffy the Vampire Slayer, reading and listening to music.

Let us see, for the past four years, I worked as a lifeguard and lessons instructor at an indoor pool in Mt. Prospect, during the summer. During the scholastic year, I work as a lifeguard at my university’s pool. Ah, but my future career is to be a secondary teacher of French and of Math. Fifteen years from now, I will be a doctor of Egyptology and of French.

I have many friends from different backgrounds. My childhood friends are native American and Hispanic—Nick and Elliot. They are twins as well. My second best bud since junior high, her name is Molly. She is such a sweetheart.
I had a friend who came from Japan—her name is Mizuki—but she moved back to the country four years ago. My college friends include, Fran, an education major as well; all my peers in French class—Stephanie, Artie, Marcella, Giulia, Christine, and Noemi; I have just one male friend from college, his name is Dustin, a major in education as well.


What do you like to do in your free time, i.e., hobbies?
In my free time, I love to study and read. My friends and family believe that neither is fun, so they try to get me to do other things. However, you cannot convince me otherwise LOL When I am not reading and studying, I love to engage in all sorts of sports including basketball, swimming, tennis, baseball, and tennis in the summertime and snowboarding in the wintertime. In addition, I enjoy drawing, playing the violin and the piano, and working on my website. I aspire to go surfing, bungee jumping, skydiving and mountain climbing. I love to collect “ancient” Egyptian trinkets and the like.

What is the name of your website and URL?
The Egyptology Page
[also known as Djed-Nefer’s Egyptology page - a little ancient Egyptian twist to the original title]

What is it that inspired you to do your webpage?
The wonderful and mysterious land of Egypt inspired me. Well, it’s not that simple. It all started when I was around 14 years old. My uncle came back from a trip in Egypt; he showed me a papyrus scroll that he bought. At first sight, and with a little help from knowledge I acquired from one of my history classes, I told him and everyone present some interesting things about Osiris, of whom the papyrus was a depiction. A few years later, when I saw the Mummy on television, I could pick out things wrong with the historical aspects of the movie. At that point, I made it my mission to know everything there is to know about ancient Egypt. By compiling all of this information on a website, I thought I could be able to do it.

What is your favourite Food, Beverage and/or Dessert?
I love butter and jelly sandwiches. My favorite junk food is a Zebra cake (google it) and my favorite beverage is A&W root beer. I also enjoy butter beer (had some when my university cafeteria had Harry Potter night).

What is/are your favourite colour(s)?
I love all colors, but I have three favorite colors; in order: cobalt blue, hunter green, and deep purple

What is your favourite Quote or Saying?
“No harm ever came from reading a book”
(Evelyn Carnahan, The Mummy).
I just love to read :D

What music do you enjoy playing or listening to?
listen to rock and classical music: Aerosmith and the Beatles as examples of the former; Racmaninov and beethovan as examples of the latter. I mostly listen to soundtracks, namely those from the Mummy and the Mummy Returns. I also enjoy listening to Justin Timberlake, Gwen Stephani, Savage Gardens, Queen and Green Day. Really, I love all types of music, including French rap (MC Solaar) and Spanish music (Shikira).

Name your favourite Movie or TV character and why.
I love The Mummy and the Mummy Returns (obviously LOL); the Indiana Jones series; and the Star Wars movies. From the Mummy series, I love Rachel Weisz’ character, Evelyn Carnahan-O’Connell because she looks and acts just as I do: she is brainy, adventurous and let us not forget, clumsy LOL. I also love Brendan Fraser’s character: Rick O’Connell.
Do I need a reason? :D

If you could be any kind of mystickal creature, who or what would it be and why?
I would be a sphinx: a symbol of power and strength, something reserved only for someone of high status (i.e. Pharaoh). Of course, I am not a very wealthy person so maybe my head would not be atop a lion’s body, but a girl can dream :)

Do you belong to any other website competitions?
Nope, just Mystickal Realms. However, I have my eye on BOTA, House of the Pharaoh.

Do you enjoy Vote Exchanging?
Oh, yes, very much.

If so, would you like others on the Team to contact you?
If anyone would like to, I would not say no ;)